Finance Committee

For the previous Finance Committee that existed prior to the adoption of the Home Rule Charter in 2018, see its archived page.

Purpose: Finance Committee shall advise the Town Council on all Town financial matters, giving attention to meeting the Council's Statement of Values, particularly those of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Environmental Sustainability, and Fiscal Responsibility, as well as ensuring that measures foster an unbiased and inclusive environment that is free of discrimination, harassment, and negative stereotyping toward any person or group. For more information about Finance Committee, see the committee charge.

Regular Meetings: Alternating Tuesdays at 9:00 am. Visit the meetings calendar for upcoming board and committee meeting information.

Type: Council
Legal Reference: Amherst Home Rule Charter Section 5.5
Appointing Authority: Town Council President for Voting Members, Town Council for Non-Voting Members
Number of Voting Members: Five (5)
Number of Non-Voting Members Three (3)
Term of Appointment: One (1) Year for Voting Members, Two (2) Years for Non-Voting Members
Staff Support Town Manager or Designee and Clerk of the Council (for audit coordination)


Member Appointed Expiration Role
Lynn Griesemer January, 2023 January, 2024 Councilor
Ana Devlin-Gauthier January, 2023 January, 2024 Councilor
Cathy Schoen (Vice Chair) January, 2023 January, 2024 Councilor
Andy Steinberg (Chair) January, 2023 January, 2024 Councilor
Ellisha Walker January, 2023 January, 2024 Councilor
Robert Hegner 2019 2025 Non-voting Resident
Bernard Kubiak 2020 2024 Non-voting Resident
Matt Holloway 2021 2025 Non-voting Resident

Interested in serving on the Finance Committee? Fill out an online Community Activity Form.