Public Art Commission - About the Board


The Public Art Commission was established by Town Meeting on April 23, 1990, to foster greater community awareness of the interaction with public art, and through public art, promote cultural diversity and an improved quality of life for Amherst’s citizens. Responsibilities include developing guidelines for public art, proposing to the Town Manager and Town Council, an annual budget, seeking funding sources for public art, encouraging integration of art in public and private development, interacting with all Town Boards, serving as a resource in educating developers, officials, and committees about possibilities for public art; and developing policies for publicly owned works in Amherst.


Appointed by the Town Manager. 7 members / 3-year terms.
Member Name
Year Appointed
Term Expires
James Barnhill, Secretary 2019 2026
Robert Brainin, Treasurer 2022 2024
Michelle (Mikey) Cutting 2022 2025
Lori Friedman 2022 2025
Terry Holt, Co-Chair 2022 2025
Dara Barrois/Dixon 2021 2024
Thomas Warger, Co-Chair 2023 2025